Colorado Springs Military Newspaper Group

Schriever Sentinel

Morrell awards to name best of 50th OG

By Capt. Christina Muscarella

50th Space Wing Orbital Safety chief

The fifth-annual Maj. Gen. Jimmey R. Morrell Awards Banquet will honor the best of the 50th Operations Group May 15 at the Peterson Air Force Base Consolidated Club.

The dinner is held to recognize 50th OG members who best epitomize the qualities of General Morrell who served as commander of the 2nd Space Wing when Schriever was known as Falcon AFB: vision, commitment to excellence, highest standards and expectations, drive to develop and mentor future leaders and unwavering courage to shape the future.

Each squadron in the 50th OG can nominate one individual in each of the following categories: Junior Enlisted, Non-Commissioned Officer, Junior Officer and Civilian.

The banquet will begin at 6 p.m. with a social hour. The guest speaker for this year’s event is Lt. Gen. Larry James, 14th Air Force and former 50th SW commander. Entertainment will be provided by Blue Steel, the U.S. Air Force Academy band.

This year’s nominees are:

2nd Space Operations Squadron:

Senior Airman Amanda Lopez-Hall, Tech. Sgt. Carlos Cisneros, Capt. Kelvin Dumas and David King.

3rd Space Operations Squadron:

Staff Sgt. Aaron Summers and Capt. Jeffery Pleinis

4th Space Operations Squadron:

Airman 1st Class Lane Dorenbusch, Staff Sgt. Jennifer Naranjo, Capt. Brandee-Laura Ellis and Adam Edwards.

50th Operations Group Standardization and Evaluations Division:

Senior Airman Christopher Davidson, Tech. Sgt. John Quitta and Capt. Rusty Mardis.

Mrs. Morrell will attend the event to help present awards in honor of her late husband who died Feb. 8, 2006, from cancer.

To Top