Colorado Springs Military Newspaper Group

Schriever Sentinel

Air Force Assistance Fund campaign kicks off

By Staff Sgt. Robert Cloys

4th Space Operations Squadron

Col. James Ross, 50th Space Wing commander, Col. Stanley Stafira, 50 SW vice commander, and Chief Master Sgt. Patrick McMahon, 50 SW command chief, fill out their Payroll Deduction form to contribute to the Air Force Assistance Fund Feb. 29. Schriever kicks of the annual AFAF campaign March 5. (U.S. Air Force photo/Staff Sgt. Robert Cloys)

The kick off coincides with the 50th Space Wing Commander’s Call Monday at 3 p.m. in the base gym.

According to the AFAF website, the fund includes four charities: Air Force Aid Society, Air Force Village, Air Force Enlisted Village, and the General and Mrs. Curtis E. LeMay Foundation. These charities provide grants, educational loans, retirement housing for widows and widowers and other emergency services for Air Force members. All active duty, retired Air Force members and their dependents are eligible for AFAS assistance, as well as dependents of deceased personnel who died while on active duty or retired.

One of the organizers for this year’s campaign, 1st Lt. Sean Allen, AFAF Wing Project Officer, points out the importance of giving to AFAF.

“The agencies highlighted in the AFAF campaign offer help in basic ways that benefit all Air Force members from young Airmen and their families to retired members and widows,” he said. “One of the greatest blessings of the military is having a support network that is willing to drop what they are doing and give the clothes off their backs and food in their pantry when you need it.”

Capt. Andrew Fox, AFAF Wing Project Officer, commented on how little of a sacrifice one has to give to make a large impact on a fellow Airman’s life.

“All we ask of our potential donors is to set aside a few days worth of snack bar money, a week of Starbucks, or swap those $2 energy drinks for water,” he said. “When making donations using the Payroll Deduction Program the money will be automatically donated from your DFAS paycheck directly to AFAF. A $20 monthly donation will be deducted as $10 per paycheck, and who wouldn’t loan a buddy 10 dollars?”

Each unit on Schriever AFB will be working to raise a piece of the wing goal. To donate, contact one of the Group/Unit Project Officers below.

50th Operations Group/ 50th Operations Support Squadron

Staff Sgt. Chris Courtright

1st Space Operations Squadron

1st Lt. Romeo White


2nd Lt. Adam Gilmore


Senior Airman John Mann


2nd Lt. Kevin Aneshansley

50 OG staff

1st Lt. Rob Smith

50th Network Operations Group/22 SOPS

Staff Sgt. Kyle Howard

50 NOG staff

Senior Airman Roy Yeomans

50th Space Communications Squadron

Master Sgt. Patricia Ford

50th Mission Support Group/ 50 MSG staff

Senior Airman Ashley Sallee

50th Civil Engineer Squadron

Senior Airman Katryn Benoit

50th Contracting Squadron

Senior Airman Ryan Scray

50th Force Support Squadron

Staff Sgt. Victoria Fisher

50th Logistics Readiness Flight

Senior Airman Amber Schmay

50th Security Forces Squadron

Tech. Sgt. John Ricci

50th Space Wing staff

Tech. Sgt. Richard Moss

50th Comptroller Squadron

Airman 1st Class Richard Ellstrom

Space Innovation and Development Center

Master Sgt. Fernando Santos / 2nd Lt. Adam Fix

17th Test Squadron

Tech. Sgt. Taryn Stys / 2nd Lt. Adam Fix

25th Space Range Squadron

Senior Airman Brittany Luce

3rd Space Experimentation Squadron

Master Sgt. Fernando Santos / Staff Sgt. James Selix

595th Space Group

Master Sgt. Fernando Santos

Advanced Space Operations School

Tech. Sgt Michael Agnew


Airman 1st Class Nicholas Corbin

11th Space Warning Squadron

Airman 1st Class Lavelle / Airman 1st Class Hartman

14th Air Force

Staff Sgt. Benjamin Sosa / Senior Airman Carlos Alvarado

527th Space Aggressor Squadron

Staff Sgt. Michael Gustavson / Staff Sgt. Marla Garcia

DET 46

Staff Sgt. Tamara Thiersmann / Staff Sgt. Jared Duran

Missile Defense Agency

Master Sgt. Paula Sutherland / Capt Kara Wotton

National Reconnaissance Office Operations Squadron

Captain Scott Cox / Capt Aaron Kelly

To Top