Colorado Springs Military Newspaper Group

military family

USAF Academy Events Calendar

Resume Writing Workshop

Thursday, 9 October (0900 — 1200)

Tuesday, 9 December (0900 — 1200)

Learn to write an effective resume that will open the door to your next career opportunity. Learn different resume formats, how to best highlight your qualifications/experience, targeting your resume to specific jobs, and more.

Federal Resume Writing Class

Thursday, 30 October (0900 — 1130)

Learn what you need to know about creating a federal resume formatted to USAJOBS guidelines.

LinkedIn & Your Job Search

Friday, 12 September (0830 — 1030)

Learn to use this social media to your best advantage when searching for your next job.

Understanding Your Competitive Advantage (Personal Branding)

Thursday, 11 September — Spouses (0900 — 1100)

Thursday, 11 September — AD + Veterans (1230 — 1630)

The value people assign to you is directly tied to how they feel about you and perception is often created by behavior, image, and positioning. These seminars guide you through presenting a powerful personal brand.

Dress for Success

Tuesday, 9 September (1400 — 1630)

Open to all active duty DoD, dependents, civilian DoD & NAF. Formerly a part of TGPS.

Mock Interviewing

Thursday, December 4 (0800 — 1200)

Preparing for your next career move? Need to fine tune your interviewing skills? Learn what kinds of questions to expect and how to best answer them. Formulate an interview preparation strategy. Conducted by a local area HR professional.

Franchising Information Session

Thursday, 13 November (1100 — 1200)

Many people dream of being an entrepreneur but starting a business from scratch can be intimidating. Purchasing and operating a franchise is a way to fulfill the entrepreneurial dream, especially for people who have limited resources or experience.

Troops To Teachers

Wednesday, 8 October (1130 — 1330)

This workshop provides information for military personnel interested in beginning a second career in public education as a teacher. Come and learn how to make the transition into this rewarding career.

In-Service Recruiter

Most Fridays by appointment (0900-1400)

In-service Recruiter, will be at the A&FRC, call 567-4494 to schedule an appointment.

Disabled American Veterans (DAV) Medical Records Review

Friday, 19 September (0800 — 1500)

Monday 29 September (073 — 1430)

Monday, 6 October (0800 — 1500)

Friday, 24 October (0730 — 1430)

Monday, 10 November (0800 — 1500)

Friday, 21 November (073 — 1430)

Monday, 1 December (0800 — 1500)

Friday, 19 December (073 — 1430)

By Appointment Only

Individuals within 180 days of retirement or separation can have the DAV review their medical records. Call for an individual appointment.

VA Benefits I & II

Thursday, 4 September (0800 — 1500)

Thursday, 16 October (0800 — 1500)

Thursday, 13 November (0800 — 1500)

Thursday, 11 December (0800 — 1500)

An explanation of VA Benefits available to retirees and veterans. This is in lieu of TGPS

Smooth Move (PCS)

Tuesday, 9 September (0900 — 1000)

Thursday, 25 September (1500 — 1600)

Call 333-3444 for dates and times for Oct, Nov, and Dec.

One Stop Shop for relocation information — specific information about your destination base, finance/allowances, Plan My Move, JPPSO/HHG shipment/claims, and more. Mandatory for all active duty who are going PCS. Spouses are encouraged to attend

Group Preseparation Briefings

Spouses are welcome and encouraged to attend.

Every Wednesday (except during TAP week) — (1400 — 1630)

Mandatory for all Military personnel retiring/separating.

Newcomers Orientation

The 3rd Thursday of each month (0900 — 1600)

At the Falcon Club

Mandatory for all newcomers to USAFA — sign-ups are taken by unit CSS. A variety of briefings from on base programs introducing newly arrived personnel and spouses to key personnel and resources.

Readiness/Deployment Briefings

Spouses are highly encouraged to attend these briefings.

Pre-Deployment (Thursday at 1400)

Reintegration Briefings (walk-in anytime between 0800 — 1600)

Class dates and times are subject to change

Call in advance to confirm and register 333-3444/3445

To Top